Tags

, ,

I devoured, while trying to savor, Jacqueline Woodson’s “adolescent” novel, Brown Girl Dreaming, so pre-ordered her novel, Another Brooklyn, when I heard it was being published.

It is a slender book and I quickly read it. Overall, it was a lovely and touching story of a young woman named August growing up and Brooklyn –  her denial over her mother’s death, her close friendships, her father’s conversion to Islam, love and heartbreak and the search for oneself. I had a bit of trouble keeping track of her three friends and their fates as Woodson jumped back in and forth in time in the telling of the story and had to check back to make sure I hadn’t missed anything.

But Another Brooklyn leaves a lasting imprint of a quiet beauty and I yearn to read her next book.

27213163

