Tags

, , ,

This is the start of my efforts to write quick reviews for the books I am reading for my work as a social worker and therapist.

18773667Title: Free Your Child From Anxiety

Author: Tamar Chansky, PhD

What I liked about it:

  • Chock full of good information for parents to help their kids manage anxiety
  • Interesting recommendations
  • Good examples

Things I didn’t like:

 

  • Too dense – could overwhelm parents
  • Some of the recommendations would be better for professionals vs. parents trying to do it on their own.
  • Hard to cover every situation, so some of the examples were too acute

Best Takeaway:

Don’t dismiss your child’s worries (“It’s okay” “that won’t happen”) , but be empathetic and curious to find out more so you can help them work through it (“what’s worry brain telling you”)

 

 

 

 

