Tags

, ,

I try not to be pulled in by the hype about the best/greatest/you must read book of the moment.  I fear I failed this time. After the first two chapters, I knew Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff would be a slog for me to get through. I wanted to give up, but I persevered and in some ways I am glad I did.

You can find a lot about the “plot” of Fates and Furies elsewhere, but I found it to be about two whiny, self-indulgent characters (Lotto, aka Lancelot Satterwhite, and his wife Meredith, aka poor abandoned and sexually used Aurelie) who were boring and trite. There were some eloquent passages, but there were also god awful sex scenes (purposeful, I hope, to reflect the stupidity and youth of the characters at the time??) and the sections depicting Lotto’s plays bored and irritated.

The second half, told from Meredith’s perspective, picks up a bit (possibly from being fueled by the promise of the title’s furies), but drags on in the end. I would have been happier with an ending 2 or 3 chapters sooner. But again, these are some self-indulgent characters and we need to witness their fates and furies until their bitter ends.

I’m sure others will love this novel, just as there are many who loved Gone Girl. For me, Fates and Furies and Gone Girl will sit together on my “Books I Wish I Hadn’t Wasted Time On” bookshelf.

https://whatwouldjoannaread.wordpress.com/2015/02/10/why-i-hate-gone-girl/

24612118

