Tags

,

It’s June and school will be ending, so I’m looking forward to more time for reading. Here’s what I am reading in June. To see what other book lovers are reading visit Modern Mrs. Darcy

FICTION:

A Disobedient Girl – I wrote a full review, but I’m including it here because everyone who loves reading about new places and women’s fiction should be reading Ru Freeman.

Servants’ Quarters – Based on a mention in Freeman’s acknowledgements, I picked up this novel from Lynn Freed at the library today. It is a small book and based on the book jacket, I am excited to read it.

Green Road – Anne Enright is well-regarded and I read good pre-release press for this book, but when I tried to read it I continually dozed off. I put it aside and then had to return it to the library, but maybe I will return to it later.

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend – This is an ARC (via Netgalley) that was compared to The Storied Life of AJ Fikry (which was a light read that I enjoyed) but so far I’m not enjoying it. I will follow Nancy Pearl’s rule of 50 — if I don’t like it after 50 pages, I can set it aside.

NON-FICTION:

Rising Strong – I cannot fully express how excited I was to get an ARC (from Netgalley) of Brene Brown’s new book. I am trying to read it slowly and savor it. So far it is wonderful and feels very actionable. Look for a full review when I finish.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? – Admittedly, I was a little late to read Mindy Kaling’s first book, but it was fun, cute and terrifically enjoyable. I laughed out loud at times and am looking forward to her next book.

Building Your Ideal Private Practice – Just the first of MANY books I plan to read during summer “break” to help build my skill set and private practice.

6350150621881823316521

2331753811021899 1064902

